News Ticker

Entries are now open for the new Digital Construction Awards

The new awards celebrate innovation and tech in the built environment

On the evening of Tuesday 12 July 2022, representatives from across the built environment industry will gather at The Brewery in Central London for the new Digital Construction Awards.

The awards are being launched in partnership with Digital Construction Week, the Chartered Institute of Building, and media titles Construction Management and BIM+, to celebrate the most pioneering projects, teams, and individuals championing innovation and technology in the built environment.

Ollie Hughes, Co-founder of Digital Construction Week, explains: “We want to share and recognise the incredible efforts from across the sector in driving our industry forward. Whether you’re working at the cutting edge of technology and digitalisation for the built environment, or you’re exploring digital technologies or processes for the first time, this is your chance to showcase the incredible work you’ve been doing over the last 12 months.”

Entries are open to the entire industry and must be submitted before the deadline of 25 March 2022 via the website, by visiting

The categories

The Digital Construction Awards include the following prestigious categories:

  • Digital Construction Project of the Year – Major Project
  • Digital Construction Project of the Year – Small Project   
  • Digital Excellence in a Construction Business           
  • Digital Excellence in a Construction SME
  • Digital Partnership       
  • Delivering Net Zero with Digital Innovation
  • Digital Innovation in Design
  • Digital Innovation in Offsite Construction    
  • Digital Innovation in On-Site Productivity
  • Digital Innovation in Health, Safety and Wellbeing
  • Best Use of Data on a Project
  • Best Application of Technology
  • Digital Construction Champion of the Year

Will Mann, Editor of Construction Management, says: “Many of the categories are open to all parts of the built environment’s supply chain – clients, architects, consultants, contractors, specialists, manufacturers, suppliers and technology firms. We look forward to celebrating the great work the industry has done in the past year.”

Justin Stanton, BIMplus Editor, adds: “Our categories address many key topics – health and safety, data, the drive to net zero and Modern Methods of Construction to name a few. And there are two suitable for SMEs or those working on projects valued at less than £10m. Key to success in the awards will be evidence.”

Find out more about the categories by visiting

The judges

Ollie Hughes comments: “To ensure the best of the best receive the recognition they deserve, we have created a robust judging process. Our judging panel comprises more than 20 well-known experts drawn from across the built environment sector. Our intent is that the Digital Construction Awards will ultimately become the Oscars of the sector – minus the long speeches.”

The judging panel is made up of acknowledged industry leaders, including:

  • Mark Enzer OBE, Head of Digital, Mott MacDonald
  • Sam Stacey, Challenge Director – Transforming Construction, UKRI
  • Jaimie Johnston MBE, Director, Bryden Wood
  • Neil Pennell, Head of Innovation, Landsec
  • David Philp, Director – Digital Consulting, Strategy & Innovation Europe, AECOM
  • Neil Thompson, Director, Atkins
  • Keith Waller, Programme Director, Construction Innovation Hub
  • Anne Kemp OBE, Chair, UK BIM Alliance
  • Carol Massay, Head of Construction, The Access Group
  • Paul Morrell OBE, Former Chief Government Construction Adviser
  • Michael Cook, Director, EY
  • Vicki Reynolds, Chief Technology Officer, i3PT
  • Kathleen Fontana, Managing Director, Mitie Projects
  • Stephen Good, CEO, Construction Scotland Innovation Centre
  • Hannah Gibson, Innovation Lead – Transforming Construction, Innovate UK
  • Hannah Vickers, Chief of Staff, MACE
  • Fiona Moore, Interoperability Technical Lead, Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy
  • Professor Jacqui Glass, Vice Dean Research, Transforming Construction Network Plus/UCL
  • Alex Small, BIM & Digital Platforms Manager, Tata Steel
  • John Ford, Group BIM and Digital Delivery Lead, Galliford Try

The panel will begin judging once the entry deadline has closed on 25 March. The shortlisted entries will then be revealed on 9 May, with the winners announced at the awards ceremony on 12 July.